Dental buyer's guide

Best AI receptionist for dentists (2026)

A dental practice should start by deciding whether it needs an assistant that reads and writes in its practice management software. Viva is built for dental and lists prices from $349 a month. Arini is dental-specific with no public price. Rosie, Goodcall, Smith.ai, My AI Front Desk and Voxipo are general products, and Voxipo does not connect to Dentrix or Open Dental.

Updated . Voxipo publishes this page and is one of the products listed. Prices as of October 30, 2026 from each vendor's own website.

Start your 14-day free trial

Disclosure

Who wrote this, and what we could and could not verify

Voxipo sells one of the seven products below and published this page. We did not rank or score anything. Each product is matched to the kind of practice it suits, and Voxipo's gaps are listed with the same weight as its strengths.

We checked the two dental-specific vendors on their own websites on October 30, 2026, and the general products against their pricing pages. Where a page does not state something, the table says so. We left out dental vendors whose facts we could not confirm on their own sites.

Voxipo makes no HIPAA claim. We did not verify a HIPAA position for any other vendor either. Where a vendor states one on its site, this page reports that as the vendor's statement, and you should ask for the written agreement before patient calls go anywhere.

Criteria

What a dental front desk needs to ask

Dental calls carry more detail than most. A caller may be a new patient, an existing one, a parent booking for a child or someone in pain at 9pm. A product that treats them all as one kind of call will not suit a practice.

Dental-specific criteria
QuestionWhy it matters in a dental practice
New or existing patient?The questions differ. New patients need contact details and a reason for the visit. Existing patients need a team member who can see their chart.
Insurance questionsCallers ask whether you take their plan. An AI agent can record the carrier a caller names. Checking eligibility is a staff job.
Emergency and toothache wordingWhat the agent says to a caller in pain is a clinical and legal matter for the practice. Check that you write the wording and that the product does not judge urgency.
Practice management softwareBooking into a calendar is not the same as booking into your scheduling system. Ask which systems the vendor reads and writes, and in which direction.
Privacy agreementAsk whether the vendor offers a written business associate agreement, and get it before patient calls are recorded or transcribed.

Side by side

Seven options for a dental practice

Prices are in US dollars. A cell that says not stated means the vendor's page did not give the fact when we checked.

AI receptionists for dental practices, as of October 30, 2026
ProductBuilt for dental?Public pricePractice softwarePrivacy statement
VoxipoNo. A general AI receptionist for US and Canadian small businessesSolo $49 a month for 250 minutes, Starter $99 for 600, Growth $199 for 1,400, Scale $399 for 3,000. 14-day free trial from your first workspace, tested in the browser; live calls need a paid planBooks into Google Calendar, Outlook, Cal.com or GoHighLevel. Does not connect to Dentrix or Open DentalMakes no HIPAA claim
VivaYes, dental onlyGold $349 a month for 4,000 credits, Platinum $899 for 7,000, Diamond $1,199 for 12,000. Unlimited credits at $350 for the first provider plus $150 for each extra. Full platform add-on $300 per locationSays it has direct integrations with major practice management systems and does not name them on its homepageStates on its site that it is HIPAA compliant and signs a business associate agreement with each practice
AriniYes, dental practices and DSOsNo public price. Book a demoSays it integrates with existing systems and does not name themNot stated on its homepage
RosieNo$49 a month for 250 minutes, $149 for 1,000, $299 for 2,000. 7-day free trialNot dental-specific. Direct calendar booking from the $149 planNot verified
GoodcallNo$79 a month for 100 unique callers, $129 for 500, $299 for 2,000Its FAQ and How it works page name Google Calendar and HighLevel as native connections; its pricing page names noneNot verified
My AI Front DeskNo. Its site lists dental among many sectors$99 a month for 200 minutes, or $79 billed yearly. 7-day trial. Its pricing page says there is no permanent free plan; its homepage FAQ mentions a free plan with limited minutesBuilt-in CRM. Its integrations page lists native Google Calendar, Outlook and Cal.com booking. API access is on Partner and Enterprise plans onlyNot verified
Smith.aiNoAI plan free for 25 calls, Pro $150 for 75 calls. Human receptionists from $300 for 30 callsIntegrations aimed at professional servicesNot verified

Sources: Viva homepage and pricingArini homepageRosie pricingGoodcall pricingGoodcall FAQGoodcall, how it worksMy AI Front Desk pricingMy AI Front Desk homepage FAQMy AI Front Desk integrationsSmith.ai AI receptionist pricingSmith.ai receptionist pricing

Patients

New patients, existing patients and the questions in between

A first-visit caller is the clearest job for any of these products. The agent asks for a name, a callback number and what the caller wants, and notes that the person is new. A Voxipo agent can book that visit into the connected calendar during the call, using the open times you allow.

An existing patient who wants to move a cleaning is harder. Voxipo's agent can change or cancel only the booking it made on the same call, so it cannot find an earlier appointment. It records the request and your team handles it from the call record.

Viva and Arini are on this page because they are built for dental practices. Neither homepage says how deeply it works with your patient records, so ask each vendor what it reads and writes in your practice software.

Insurance

Insurance questions the agent cannot answer

Callers often ask whether you accept their plan before they book. An AI agent cannot verify eligibility, benefits or coverage. With Voxipo you can put your list of accepted plans in the agent's knowledge, and the agent can read it back as practice-approved wording. It does not confirm that a particular patient is covered.

The agent can record the carrier a caller names so the front desk can follow up. Eligibility checks stay with your staff, whichever product you choose.

Emergencies

Toothache and emergency wording belongs to the practice

A caller with a swollen face or a knocked-out tooth needs your practice's own instructions. Write the greeting and the urgent-call wording yourself, and have your dentist approve it. Test it by talking to the agent in the browser with a toothache and a broken-tooth scenario before it goes live.

Voxipo's agent follows the wording you approve and records what the caller says. It does not diagnose, judge how urgent a case is or tell a caller what treatment to expect. It cannot hand a live call to a person yet, so your after-hours plan needs a person who reads the call records and calls back.

Where each wins

Which practice each product suits

  • Viva: practices that want a dental-only product with a stated practice-software integration and a stated privacy agreement. It lists a 30-day trial. Ask it which systems it connects to for your version.
  • Arini: group practices and DSOs that want a dental-specific vendor and will take a demo to get a price.
  • Voxipo: small practices that want a published price from $49 a month, callbacks to missed callers from the practice's own number and bookings in a calendar they already use.
  • Rosie: practices that want a low entry price and a 7-day trial, with call handoffs from the $149 plan.
  • Goodcall: practices with many repeat callers, because each phone number counts once a month.
  • My AI Front Desk: practices that want texting and many languages in one plan.
  • Smith.ai: practices that want a person behind the AI for calls that need judgment.

Voxipo's gaps

Where Voxipo falls short for a dental practice

  • Voxipo does not connect to Dentrix or Open Dental, so a booking lands in a calendar and not in your scheduling system.
  • Voxipo makes no HIPAA claim. A practice that needs a written privacy agreement should choose a vendor that provides one.
  • The agent cannot verify insurance eligibility.
  • Live call transfer is not available yet, and the standard agent setup has no texting tool.
  • One appointment per time slot for the whole business, so two chairs cannot be booked in the same slot. Phone bookings on Google Calendar, Outlook and GoHighLevel use a fixed 30-minute slot.
  • The agent can change or cancel only the booking it made on the same call.
  • Home-services templates come in English and Spanish only, and Voxipo is not built for dental the way Viva is.

Questions

Frequently asked questions

What is the best AI receptionist for a dental practice?

It depends on whether you need your practice software connected. A dental-specific vendor such as Viva states direct integrations and a privacy agreement. A general product such as Voxipo costs less to start and books into a calendar. Test each on your real calls.

Is Voxipo ranked first because Voxipo wrote this page?

We did not rank the list. Voxipo is the vendor and publisher, it appears first in the table because we know it best, and its gaps are listed beside its strengths. Facts about other vendors come from their own websites, with links.

Does Voxipo connect to my dental practice software?

No. Voxipo does not connect to Dentrix or Open Dental. It books into Google Calendar, Outlook, Cal.com or GoHighLevel and keeps the call record, transcript and summary in its own lightweight CRM.

Is Voxipo HIPAA compliant?

Voxipo makes no HIPAA claim. If your practice needs a business associate agreement, ask each vendor for one in writing before you connect your number.

Can an AI receptionist check a patient's insurance?

Not with Voxipo. The agent can record the carrier a caller names and read back the plans you list as accepted. Eligibility checks stay with your staff.

How much does a dental AI receptionist cost?

As of October 30, 2026, Viva lists $349 to $1,199 a month on its credit plans, or $350 a month for the first provider on its Unlimited option, and Arini lists no price. General products start lower: Rosie at $49 a month, Goodcall at $79 and My AI Front Desk at $99. Voxipo's plans run from $49 a month for 250 minutes to $399 for 3,000, and your 14-day free trial starts when you create your first workspace.

Keep exploring

Related pages

Try it on your own line

Try Voxipo with a practice call in your browser

Start the 14-day free trial and talk to your agent in the browser. Choose a plan when you are ready to take real calls; plans run from $49 a month for 250 minutes.